A new Farmers Market garden space!

by runningwaterpottery3533

Last Wednesday, I was offered a space to plant a Fall crop for the Plainview Area Farmers Market. The space is about 100 feet long and 50 feet wide. I planted yellow squash, patty pan squash, zucchini, pinto beans, lima beans, cucumbers, and beets. I lost my turnip seed somewhere between the nursery and the new garden so I’ll have to find those. In a few weeks I may plug in some lettuce and cabbage.

The irrigation system is a 10 foot length of 2″ PVC fed by a garden hose (left). I drilled a 1/4″ hole at a slight downward angle in the middle of each furrow. The rows are on a 30″ spacing. That’s hard to walk down!! When I farmed, I was on a 40″ spacing. On the right you see that I have a ‘T’ installed at the end of the pipe. All that does is keep the pipe from rotating; the water coming out of the holes will always remain at a consistent angle. I figure it will take 5-6 hours to water those 4 rows with the faucet only half open!

Now for a weed control plan…

