DSC01192

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01192

DSC01192

This is the first harvest from my garden on Wednesday morning, 6/27. I reached down to pull some weeds out of the onion patch and came up with the weeds…and an onion! Oops! Some of the onions have gone to seed but they have not fallen over yet so I guess I’ll leave them alone and be more careful pulling weeds next time. Those are sweet banana peppers that came off of 2 plants that couln’t be 10 inches tall. That’s the earliest pepper picking I’ve ever had. The Plainview Area Farmers Market starts on July 14( I think!) so maybe I should be happy. I never have a crop ready when the market starts since I’m tied up with school and my garden is slow to develop because it’s a caliche rock pile that delays plant maturity. I sure do like my new raised bed. I have pinto beans blooming and all 7 peppers are also blooming. Sometime in the next week I need to trellis the cucumbers.

