More Rain on the Prairie!

by runningwaterpottery3533

   We had more rain last night, before I could finish mulching the okra! I don’t know how much since I hit the road back to town when it started to sprinkle.

   I wanted to mention that I don’t plow the garden anymore, nor do I hoe every square foot to control weeds. In the photo below, you have to look close to see the okra. In the foreground you can just make out the rows amid the mulch. In the background you can see where I used the ‘Cool Hand Luke’ yo-yo to cut the weeds down. I want all the roots I can get to hold the soil! It’s a good thing I don’t plow since the rain fell pretty hard last night and also the week before when the playa was filled up, partially. The mulch will help prevent wind and water erosion and slowly build soil.

   Perhaps I can run out late this evening and get back on the mulching. I don’t want to lose that moisture!

