DSC01182

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01182

DSC01182

We had 2.5 inches of rain lately and another .15″ last night so I better get the okra mulched! I’ll end up covering the PVC manifold to keep the UV rays off of it. Once the okra is a bit bigger I’ll thin it to one plant every 10″ or so. Right now it has a plant every 1/2″! I always plant some for the rabbits, some for the hail, and just a little for me! I used up all the mulch on site so it’s back to the landfill stock pile this afternoon for another load.

You have to look close to see the okra. It will be more obvious once it grows bigger and taller. Long ago when I was cotton farming, I quit the practice of ‘clean ground farming’ and I let the previous years stalks stay standing and I planted a cover crop into those stalks. When May came around, I planted the cotton into that mass of crop residue. In the garden I do a similar thing by not hoing every square inch. I use the previous years crop residue and whatever winter weeds that sprout to hold the soil in place. Perhaps I’ll get every square foot mulched. I began mulch in 2010 and I guess I’ll finish it 3 years later…just in time to start again, but that’s how to build soil!

