DSC01176

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01176

DSC01176

I thought I would post about my efforts at conserving hackberry trees on my land where the pottery is located.
The hackberry tree, in our neck of the ‘woods’, typically grows in a transitional zone between the uplands and Running Water Draw. If you go 50 yards to the right, you’re in the upland. If you go 50 yards to the left, you’re in the bottom of Running Water Draw.

This particular tree was growing in the front yard when I lived out at the farm so I built a crude cage around it to keep ‘the father’ from mowing it down and to keep the rabbits from chewing the bark off in the winter. This tree is about 7′ tall. I installed the cage in 1990. That’s how slow a hackberry can grow! The hackberry just beyond, in the middle ground was about 6′ tall in 1970. It’s now about 12-14′ tall and probably 60 years old. (I turn 49 in August and that tree was like a landmark that us kids were not supposed to go beyond when we were outside playing!…but we did anyway)

