We finally had significant rain!

by runningwaterpottery3533

   Since last weekend we’ve had 2.5 inches of rain. That’s enough to allow me to shut off my drip irrigation for a few days. It also filled up my playa a little. The last water in the playa evaporated in late october of 2010 so we should see a whole new cycle of life spring up as a result of the rain! I’ll get some photos of that as it happens.

   I left the garden unattended for 3 or 4 days during the rain and went out yesterday to check on it. Things look pretty good. I did have one pepper plant that a critter gnawed through. That was my first casualty of the season! The okra is up ans so are most of the cucumbers. The raised bed looked really crowded with all of the pinto beans that sprouted among the peppers. I may have to thin them??

   The first week of my summer ceramics class is just about over. Historically, most of the students avoid the potters’ wheel as long as they can but this group jumped on it immediately for 3 straight days! That’s the first time in my 10 years of teaching that the students worked with the wheel to that degree so very early in the term!

  OK, that’s about all for now. I’ll have more photos pretty soon!

