DSC01159

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01159

DSC01159

You can see the few onions that I have in the cages at right, center. I was going to plant the remainder of my pepper crop today but the wind was just too savage. I’ve laid out some drip line and prepared holes for 38 more peppers. I need another 30 or so beyond that to be finished. Tonight, I’ll sit in the back yard and make more cages out of 2″x4″ welded wire. I cut the catfood bags this morning. You get 2 wind sleeves out of one bag by tearing off the top, cutting out the bottom and then cutting it in half, horizontally.

The cucumber will go on the fence, on the left, in the lower photo and on a row of portable tomato cages made from ‘hog’ wire which is a heavy gauge wire mesh that has a 4 or 5 inch square opening. It’s an old fencing material that’s been around the place for 50 years and I’ll cut it to length and bend it into a circle and then stack one on top of another and hold them in place with rebar; instant trellis. Well, maybe not instant…

