DSC01133

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01133

DSC01133

I know I shouldn’t be getting frustrated with all this rain we’ve been getting for the past week or so. Being a farmer at heart, I should be grateful. It is; however, delaying the olla project because the humidity is not allowing the pots to dry as fast as I would like them to. As a result, the people who ordered them are not getting them as fast as I’d like them to and that’s where I’m beginning to feel like that fool I mentioned in an earlier post. I suppose things could be worse…I could have 1000 acres of cotton seed in the ground! We thought the 2012 crop might be a bust because of the drought and just think of all the seed that has been planted and it’s now been laying in cold, wet ground for the past week or ten days. So, with that thought in mind, I’ll gladly take my olla problem and hope that my customers can relate to the cold and wet, as we say.
This photo illustrates my haste in getting the ollas trimmed and into the kiln. This pot was made on Saturday and I just now trimmed it at 10:30 this morning. It’s had 3 days of drying and you can see the scars made by the chuck at the end of my pencil. It’s just too wet…still. By comparison, the untrimmed pot on the left has no scars and that’s what I’m looking for. I suppose, since these pots are almost purely functional and made to be buried in the ground, that I shouldn’t worry about a minor scar made by the trimming chuck. I know I will worry about it and I’ll go ahead and give it more drying time before I trim the last 7 ollas. I got in a hurry and made an unecessary blemish. I also know that we will be grateful for this rain in the next few weeks/months regardless of what ‘problems’ it’s causing me now.

