DSC01117

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01117

DSC01117

The olla on the left is a 1 gallon vessel while the olla on the right is a one and a half galloner. It is 13 1/2 ” tall and 10 ” in diameter. When you play around with a circle, a slight increase in size will significantly increase the volume of the pot.
If you look closely you will see that the olla on the right is tall through the shoulder and wider through the belly, just enough to get that extra volume.

I’ve been having trouble making this size. I don’t normally throw this big and getting a good looking olla has proven to be tricky. I tell my students that when I make a new form, I may throw 100 of them before I get the ‘feel’ of that form. This project is proving me right. Of the 13 needed to finish the orders, I’ve been able to only get 2 that are worth keeping! So, I spent the day practicing by throwing the piece and then cutting it in half, vertically, to check the wall thickness and then rewedging the clay and doing it all over again.
I hope tomorrow makes for a better day of production. Success comes only through practice…even at my age and experience.

