Olla Lid

by runningwaterpottery3533

DSC01096

Olla Lid

Lids for the ollas are thrown on the potter’s wheel in a manner very similar to that described in an earlier post. There are basically three different types of lids in pottery; dome, inset, and cap. The very first lids I made were dome lids. You can see them in the post where they are in the Wayland Community Garden, installed among the tomatoes. I think we may have a problem with those. If a bird lands on the handle, he may displace it when he ‘launches’ into the air and then we have a situation where we get evaporation and mosquitoes laying their eggs inside the moist interior. I have not seen anyone making ollas with lids on the Internet and I wonder why?? Also, I think a cap lid covers the neck of the olla and prevents evaporation from that upper area of the vessel, making more water available to the plant. I’m also willing to think that the cap lid offers the olla itself a degree of protection from weeding implements such as garden hoes. The Internet ollas have flared rims which are probably the first thing that will be broken.

